Malcolm Parson

Malcolm Parson


Malcolm Parson is perhaps best known for his work as a member of both Turtle Island Quartet and Carolina Chocolate Drops. As a composer, he had his first break in 2019 by collaborating with Brian McOmber on the soundtrack to Little Woods (dir. Nia Dacosta). Since then, his film work has continued with projects such as The Sentence of Michael ThompsonGood Ol GirlBallet After Dark, LA28Laying Flowers.:.Setting FiresThe World’s Greatest Storyteller, and currently If I Go Will They Miss Me. As a cellist, he has performed on several featured films including PalmerKingdom of SilenceMudbound, and Blow The Man Down. Most recently, Parson has created memorable scores for the FX Hulu documentary series Secrets of Hillsong, and the HBO documentary Love, Lizzo.

In concert, he has performed with Somi, Kelsey Lue, The Eagles, Dianna Agron, Terence Blanchard, Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn, Yebba, PJ Morton, BJ The Chicago Kid, Victory Boyd, Paquito D’Rivera, and Cyrus Chestnut to name a few. He has appeared on The David Letterman Show with Rhiannon Giddens, 2018 MTV VMA’s with Shawn Mendes, and The Jimmy Fallon Show with Niall Horan, The Roots, and Salaam Remi. Recently, as a member of Turtle Island Quartet, Parson was nominated for Best Instrumental Jazz Album for their work on Terence Blanchard’s latest release, “Absence” featuring E-Collective and Turtle Island Quartet.

Born in New Orleans, he moved to Atlanta at the age of 11 and began studying cello privately through Atlanta Symphony Orchestra’s “Talent Development Program. He later earned his B.M in Contemporary Writing and Production from Berklee College of Music.

Selected Credits


Love, Lizzo
Director: Doug Pray
Producers: Kevin Weaver, Sarah Springer, Nicole Rocklin, Michael Rapino, Doug Pray, Ryan Kroft, Kevin Beisler, Lizzo
Starring: Lizzo

In Their Hands
Producer: William Crouse, Stacey Lee

Good Ol Girl
BullMoose Pictures
Director: Sarah Brennan Kolb
Producers: Jessica Burgess, Kyle I. Kelley, Sarah Brennan Kolb

Finding Us (Short)
SideXSide Studios
Director: Kathryn Carlson
Producers: Jamie Coughlin, Karran Harper Royal, Gabriel Silverman

The Sentence of Michael Thompson (Short)
Director: Haley Elizabeth Anderson, Kyle Thrash
Producers: W. Ian Ross, Kyle Thrash

If I Go Will They Miss Me (Short)
Cartel Films
Director: Walter Thompson-Hernandez
Producers: Stuart A. McIntyre
Starring: Anthony Harris Jr., Tony Sirico

And Back Again
Director: Dylan Redford, Lena Redford
Producers: Dylan Redford
Starring: Dylan Redford, Lena Redford

Palmer (Musician – Cello)
Apple TV+
Director: Fisher Stevens
Producers: Charlie Corwin, Sidney Kimmel, Daniel Nadler, John Penotti, Charles B. Wessler
Starring: Justin Timberlake, Ryder Allen, Alisha Wainwright

Kingdom of Silence (Musician – Cello)
Showtime Networks
Director: Rick Rowley
Producers: Sam Black, Trevor Davidoski
Starring: Nasser Faris, Lawrence Wright

Blow the Man Down (Musician – Cello)
Amazon Studios
Director: Bridget Savage Cole, Danielle Krudy
Producers: Lia Buman, Tim Headington, Drew Houpt, Alex Scharfman, T.J. Watson
Starring: David Coffin, David Pridemore, Adam Wolf Mayerson

FILM (Continued)

Ballet After Dark
Director: B. Monét
Producers: Ayana Barber
Starring: Jasmine Cooper, Nya Cunningham, Tyde-Courtney Edwards

Little Woods (Composer, Producer, Musician)
Automatik Entertainment / Neon
Director: Nia DaCosta
Producers: Rachael Fung, Tim Headington, Gabrielle Nadig
Starring: Tessa Thompson, Lily James, Luke Kirby

The World’s Greatest Storyteller
Director: Horatio Baltz

Laying Flowers.:.Setting Fires (Short)
Director: Amir Sulaiman
Producers: Amir Sulaiman, Mikaal Sulaiman, Yusuf Muhammed

Mudbound (Musician – Cello)
Director: Dee Rees
Producers: Carl Effenson, Sally Jo Effenson, Cassian Elwes, Charles D. King
Starring: Carey Mulligan, Jason Clarke, Mary J. Blige

From the Kill Pen (Theme Music)
Synergetic Distribution
Director: Sharon Boeckle
Producers: Sharon Boeckle
Starring: Paula Bacon, Milton Bagby, Dean Bolstad

Ma (Musician – Cello)
Factor 25
Director: Celia Rowlson-Hall
Producers: Celia Rowlson-Hall
Starring: Kentucky Audley, Matt Lauria, Andrew Pastides


Money Game
Director: Drea Cooper
Producers: Ross Dinerstein, Rebecca Evans, and Ross Girard, Erica Winograd, Jim VandeHei, and Roy Schwartz, Shaquille O’Neal, Colin Smeeton, Michael Parris of Jersey Legends, Brendan Daw, Drea Cooper

The Secrets of Hillsong
FX / Hulu
Producers: Michael Williams, David Collins, Rob Eric, Joel Chiodi, Chief Radhika Jones, Agnes Chu, Geneva Wasserman

2015 NBA All-Star Game (Cello – Christina Aguilera performance, opening theme)
Producers: Allison Roithinger